Hugh J. Watson Award

2018 Recipient Dr. Ramesh Sharda, Oklahoma State University 

The Hugh J. Watson Award is presented annually by Teradata University Network to honor and recognize an individual whose significant achievements and high quality contributions to the data and analytics academic community via Teradata University Network embody the spirit and passion of Hugh Watson and his dedication to TUN.

Established in 2017, this award is in honor of Dr. Hugh J. Watson, academic co-founder of Teradata University Network. This annual recognition will drive and ensure continued sustainability of Hugh's original vision for Teradata University Network.

The Hugh J. Watson Award will be presented annually at a major conference and no recipient can receive more the award more than once.

Timing: Nominations (including self-nominations) accepted from March 1st  through May 31st.

Award includes:

  • Framed certificate
  • $1,000 prize
  • Recipient profile page on Teradata University Network 

Eligibility and Submissions length:

Examples of Contributions:

  • Serving on TUN board
  • Contributions to the TUN website
  • Leadership at academic conferences/organizations (BA Congress, Conference or Track Chairs, SIG leadership)
  • Developing and growing relationships with and contributions from TUN partners (SAS, MSTR, IBM, others)
  • Leadership supporting the TUN brand – delivering workshops/sessions, publications (Journal articles) and research (BI Curriculum Guidelines, surveys) highlighting TUN
  • Supporting students - student competitions(advisor or judge), directed study, content creation

Selection Committee: The selection committee will be comprised of TUN Program Director, TUN Executive Director and Hugh Watson. TUN program management and the TUN exec board reserve the right to establish other faculty awards.

2017       Barbara Wixom, MIT
2018       Ramesh Sharda, Oklahoma State University